NJ Marathon

I was planning on running the full marathon yesterday, Sunday May 03 ’09. It was drizzling and raining the whole time.  This yearly event is organized at the picturesque Long Branch and Monmouth Beach area of South East New Jersey. I had been unwell for the past two weeks due to exhaustion, stomach upset and weekends working in office. So I wasn’t sure if I could even attempt to run. But run I did and decided I will stick to the half marathon (13.1 miles) and not over exert myself by running the full 26.2.

I enjoyed the run in the rain and comfortably finished it in 2hours 15minutes.  I stuck to the 4:45 pace group and with about a mile before finish line  increased my pace and crossed the line. I was impressed by the well organized event. About 10,000 runners participated. Onlookers and visitors were less due to the rain and chill weather.

My goal this year is the Chicago Marathon and I will focus on that.