I had written an earlier post mentioning how lucky I was to have made it to the 2010 NYC Marathon lottery. With just 3 months to go before the marathon, I want to keep my focus on the race and not get emotionally sidetracked by other issues. This marathon is special. For the first time, world record holder Haile Gebrselassie (2h:03m:59secs) is running this race. I may never get to see him during the race, but to be one amongst the participants is a pride in itself.

I ran 6.5 miles this morning and have also lost a bit of weight. I feel upbeat and hope to keep my training on track. Two of my running buddies with whom I initially started running in the 2008 Asha Marathon program are also running the NYC for the first time. I am excited and look forward to their company and running with them at the event.

Please wish me luck as I prepare for the marathon. Thanks!

