What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Murakami

Unlike other Murakami books, which are fictional, this is his personal account of running marathons, triathlons and even an ultramarathon. A marathon is a distance of 26.2 miles, whereas an ultra is 62.14 miles or 100kms ! That I doubt I will ever be able to do.  If you are a fan of Murakami and love to run then this book is for you.  Most of the book is him describing his 4-months preparation for the 2005 NYC Marathon. He also writes about other marathons he runs at Tokyo, Hawaii, Boston etc.,

I was impressed to read about his solo unofficial run from Athens to Marathon tracing the original marathon route in reverse. His determination to run alone in the heat and dust is amazing and he describes it well.

I may never be able to participate in a Triathlon which involves running, swimming and bicycling. Murakami tackles the challenge and does admirably. I can barely swim, so triathlons are out of question for me. I like the fact how Murakami credits his running to have helped him provide the determination and discipline to write his novels.

All in all, a good enjoyable book.  My next book: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

