The White Tiger by Arvind Adiga

With excitement I picked up this book over the weekend. There was so much hype about this 2008 Booker Prize winning novel and I was eager to read it. As soon as I read the first few pages, I realized this book was not targeted at the Indian reader.

This is the story of a rickshaw puller’s son from a Bihar village finally making it big in Bangalore. I finished the book in a single day. So no doubt , the book was gripping. But for all the hype surrounding the book, I did not see what was extraordinary about it. Maybe, I am looking at it as an Indian and so don’t see what impressed the Booker jury.

Do I recommend the book ? Yes, I do. But don’t read it because it won the Booker, read it because the book is a good read. Arvind Adiga is only 34, so one can expect much from him in the future. His simple narrative style in this book impressed me.

